0100 Legislature
Mission Statement

The Legislature is comprised of two houses, the Senate and the Assembly, and is responsible for enacting laws and establishing public policy for California. The State Senate is comprised of 40 members who are elected for 4-year terms. Each Senator serves no more than two terms. The State Assembly is comprised of 80 members who are elected for 2-year terms. Members of the Legislature may serve a maximum of 12 years total in the Senate, the Assembly, or both, in any combination of terms. Members first elected before June 6, 2012, however, may generally serve a maximum of 14 years total, with no more than two terms in the Senate and three terms in the Assembly.